Mad Scientist Birthday Party

For my son’s 11th birthday, we planned a Mad Scientist birthday party. I thought we could do fun experiments and make a big mess. I think we succeeded at having fun. I know we succeeded in making a mess!

It took two days beforehand to make these “naked” eggs. They are eggs soaked in vinegar until the shell falls off, but the egg membrane stays intact. I found the instructions here.

Naked Eggs

Naked Eggs

After the kids examined the naked eggs, we let them throw them around outside. They are pretty fragile and burst when thrown.

I bought some clay and small plastic cups (like the ones you would use to rinse mouth out. I molded the clay around the cups to make volcanoes. The guests each had a container of baking soda to add to volcano. Then they each poured vinegar into the volcano to watch it erupt.

Erupting Volcanoes

Erupting Volcanoes

We made goo out of glue, borax and water. Here is a link to the directions.

Making goo

Making goo


Green Slime

Green Slime

I bought a printable download for signs and labels. I used Hugs drinks and added hazard labels for drinks.

Hazardous Labels and Signs

Hazardous Labels and Signs

I bought petri dishes and filled with yellow jello and a couple of gummy worms.

Petri dish

Petri dish

The candy favor bags were simply white paper bags with “Chemical Candies” label from the Etsy kit.

Chemical Candies

Chemical Candies

I kept the party simple. Simple snacks and decorations. The experiments were easy, but messy and fun for the kids. The prep work was pretty simple for the experiments. I would recommend a Mad Scientist party if you are looking something simple, but loads of fun!

Leave a Reply

