Grocery Challenge

Almost two weeks ago, I decided to challenge my family to see how long we could go without buying groceries*.  My husband thought we would make it three days.  I thought we would make it a week.  We are on day 12.  It’s been much easier than I thought it would be.  Part of our success came from having a pretty well stocked pantry and freezer.  We had lots of things that I had bought on sale at some point and never used.  So we had a good starting point.

I started this challenge to save money as well as to clean out our pantry and freezer.  What I didn’t anticipate was how much fun it would be.  It was like figuring out a puzzle.  It also forced me to make things from scratch in addition to trying new recipes.  I made homemade whole wheat biscuits, banana nut muffins, pizza crusts, cheese sticks, white pasta sauce, and numerous other things.

I realized it is not hard or all that time-consuming to start from scratch.  It also saves money in addition to giving us healthy, non-processed food.  I also learned to make substitutions for my usual recipes and just create new recipes based on what was available.

I don’t know how many more days we’ll go before we buy groceries.  We still have lots of vegetables, rice, and beans left to cook.  But we are running very low on meat.  This challenge is supposed to be fun so we will not be eating beans for days on end.  I figure we will buy a few meat items and see how long it takes to clean out the rest of our vegetables and other miscellaneous items.

I would definitely recommend this challenge if for no other reason than to clean out your kitchen without just throwing stuff away.  I bet you’ll be surprised at how long you can go.

*Just wanted to add that we did buy milk for the kids, eggs, and oil.

2 responses to “Grocery Challenge

  1. We always do this the week (or two depending on how lazy I am) before we leave on vacation. You do come up with some “creative” dinners.

    • That’s a great idea. I couldn’t believe how much stuff we had crammed into our freezers and pantry!! No more buying in bulk if I’m not going to keep up with what I bought!!

Leave a Reply

