What do you want to be when you grow up?

Me and my eight year old son were having some one-on-one time the other day.  We were chatting about various topics when he started talking about what he wanted to be when he grew up.

He wants to be a cop.  I asked him why and he said because he could go on car chases.  I told him that rarely happened except on cartoons and movies.  He corrected me and said that I was wrong, he had seen real video of it on Cops.  I told him, yes, that was real…but it still doesn’t happen very often.  He replied, “That’s OK.  I’m sure I will still be able to eat all the doughnuts I want.”  As long as he has goals and dreams.

Speaking of goals and dreams….during this same conversation he asked me what I wanted to be when I was a kid.  I told him that I had wanted to be an astronaut.  He replied, “That didn’t work out so well for ya, huh?”   Nope, I guess not.

Leave a Reply

