To Kill A Mockingbird

I’m finishing up the book “To Kill a Mockingbird”.  I have read it a couple of times before, but it’s been a few years ago.  The last time I read it was before I had kids so it’s been at least eight years ago.  I have always loved the book.  The descriptions of the weather and scenery are so spot on that I can feel myself sleeping on the back porch in the middle of a hot summer night.  It brings back memories of lazy days of summer and childhood adventures. 

But this time reading it has opened up a whole new view.  I now relate more to Atticus than to Scout and Jem.  I’m the parent now….not the kid.  I’m the one making decisions for my children and wishing them tons of SAFE childhood adventures. 

It seems that not so long ago, I was the kid.  Now I’m the mom.  Times change fast and sometimes it takes reading an old familiar book to realize just how much life is changing and has changed. 

I certainly wouldn’t want time to stand still.  Although I must admit that right now sure is a great time.  But I love the excitement of change and growing and evolving.  The only thing I hope for is that I am aware of just how wonderful the moment is.  And just how fleeting. 

My wish is that each of my days feels like a childhood adventure.

One response to “To Kill A Mockingbird

  1. Your observations and perspectives are “spot on”. Makes me want to pick up TKAM again. :O)

Leave a Reply

